clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Martyn Waghorn and Lee Wallace nominated for POTY - but no McKay or Tav

Martyn Waghorn and Lee Wallace will contend with Hibs' Jason Cummings and John McGinn for the Championship POTY vote.

Ian MacNicol/Getty Images

The PFA Championship Player of the Year shortlist has been released, and Martyn Waghorn and Lee Wallace are both on it.

The two Rangers players will contend with John McGinn and Jason Cummings from Hibs to win the award.

Now, we love Martyn Waghorn as much as the next man, but we might humbly suggest he would struggle to get into our top four players this year, let alone the Championship's. Barrie McKay and James Tavernier are certainly ahead of him, as are, probably, Kenny Miller, Jason Holt and Lee Wallace.

Falkirk can feel a bit hard done by, too - Hibs have been good in patches but overall they have been a disappointment that have, in the league at least, played below expectations, whereas Rangers triumped by a huge distance and Peter Houston's men punched well above their weight.

Still, it would be nice if we got one of the awards. Ultimately though, it means nothing other than that Celtic will have to pay an extra couple of quid when they eventually sign McGinn when he inevitably wins it. Titles and trophies are where it's at - ones that don't go to a popular vote, that is. We'll tell Hibs what it's like after the final...